top of page
  • Writer's pictureA-Z FFB

2021 'My Guys'

'My Guys' is a term that (to my knowledge) was coined by the legendary Fantasy Footballers. These are the guys who you are willing to put all your chips on for the upcoming fantasy football season. Last year I had some great success with my 'My Guys', hitting on players like Antinio Gibson and Diontae Johnson. As we enter a new season, here are the guys that I am putting all of my confidence in for the 2021 fantasy football seasons.


I typically select 1-2 players per position that I fully expect to either:

  1. Outperform their ADP drastically

  2. Will exceed expectations, even at their current ADP

Here are my 2021 'My Guys'


QB


Jalen Hurts

Earlier this offseason I made a joke that no player had aged more during the offseason than 23 year old Jalen Hurts. Hurts started 4 games for the Eagles his rookie year. While his passing numbers left plenty to be desired, his rushing output was outstanding. In my QB ranking article I touch on all the reasons I love Hurts for fantasy football in 2021

Photo: Sports Illustrated


Zach Wilson

I have been on record for some time now saying that I believe in Zach Wilson. Knowing that Trevor Lawrence would likely be selected with the 1st overall pick in the 2021 draft, the Jets had a long time to prepare for what this season will look like with Zach Wilson as their starting QB. Wilson has an impressive skillset that combines mobility with precision. He has an uncanny ability to make off platform throws without sacrificing velocity on his throws. In superflex (or 2 QB leagues), I am honestly comfortable starting Zach Wilson, and I am doing so in more than 1 league this year.

Photo: Da Windy City


RB


Austin Ekeler

Austin Ekeler has been 'My Guy' dating back to April where I stated that he absolutely has the potential to finish as the RB 1 overall (in 0.5 or full PPR formats). He ranks as my RB 4 in 2021, I am all in on Austin Ekeler.

Photo: chargers.com


Javonte Williams

I am a huge Dyami Brown fan, while breaking down Brown's college file, teammate Javonte Williams captured my attention every time he touched the ball. He is essentially a blend of some of my favorite RB's currently in the league (read my RB rankings article to see who my comps are). Javonte Williams has a 3-down skill set that will allow him to contribute week 1. I feel it is just a matter of time until he takes over as the full time RB 1 in Denver. When that happens he will possess top 15 upside on a weekly basis.


WR


Diontae Johnson

Diontae makes back-to-back appearances as a 'My Guy'. Last year I called a top 20 WR. Due to injuries, he finished just 4 fantasy points away from cracking that top 20. This year I'm predicting that Diontae Johnson will be a top 12 WR in fantasy football.

Photo: Still Curtain


Laviska Shenault Jr.

I have loved Viska ever since he came out of college. He was a true 'do it all' guy at Colorado. He is a super rare athlete, especially at the WR position. Viska possesses the same athletic measurables as Zeke Elliot, but has the ball skills of a WR. He is a menace after the catch, it typically requires multiple defenders to get him to the ground. My take: Laviska Shenault Jr. will be a top 20 WR this season.

Photo: yahoo.com


TE


Kyle Pitts

Rookie TE records will be broken this year. Kyle Pitts is that guy. I have aggressively ranked as my TE (Read the article here) ;)


Photo: With The First Pick

28 views0 comments
bottom of page